deer in headlights

On Friday, I arrived at the plot to discover my beautiful swiss chard that was nearly ready to pick was gone.  All of it…

dinner for deer

I was really quite surprised because I hadn’t seen any deer and just didn’t even consider deer coming close to the city.  We have a 4 1/2 ft. fence around the community garden but it clearly won’t keep deer out!  As far as I could tell, my swiss chard was quite filling because I didn’t find much else disturbed.

On the bright side, I picked my first kohlrabi of the season!  And I put a few more things in: bodacious sweet corn, crock neck squash, sweet banana pepper, habanero, cayenne hot, hungarian wax hot, marigolds and zinnias.

plot 6/2/10 (notice the beautiful swiss chard on the left)

This entry was posted in community garden plot. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment